Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Brrr it's cold outside! Winter Camping
Click Here to Login

Old 08-20-2022, 12:28 AM   #1
whitetrashcobra
Established Member

M.O.C. #30703
Newbie full timer help

Ok so I am living full time in my high country and it will be getting cold soon and I a total newbie with this stuff... So in my living romm/kitchen area i jave 1 thermostat that reads Fan,cool,furnace,heat pump and the bed room Has Fan,cool,furnace.
So I assume the Furnace runs off propane amd the heat pump is electric and the furnace comes through the floor. So is the ac unit in my bedroom only a ac unit? And why did it kick on when i selectes furnace? Are the rv thermostats backwards and the furnce is producing heat fr the roof units and not the propane? I was gonna knock the chill off tonight and i selected furna e and the unit kicked o and was blower cold air even set temp to 88 and still cold air.. so does the roof units not have heat?

whitetrashcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2022, 04:23 AM   #2
Mikendebbie
Montana Master

M.O.C. #21044
You need to provide the year and model of your RV. Thermostat types have changed over the years.

My unit is a 2018. The living room 15k AC also has a heat pump function. Bedroom unit is AC only. Generally the heat pumps only work when outside temps are in 50s. I use the fireplace to take the chill off. The living room thermostat controls the furnace. Bedroom thermostat has no furnace controls. I have replaced both OEM thermostats with MicroAir thermostats.
Aussie Gus + Texas Heeler Jimmy
Mikendebbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2022, 04:55 AM   #3
whitetrashcobra
Established Member

M.O.C. #30703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikendebbie View Post