Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Solar, Charging Systems, Batteries and Electrical
Click Here to Login

Old 08-14-2022, 07:08 PM   #1
Rogueknight
Established Member

M.O.C. #31462
Newbie help

Hey guys need some education
I recently purchased my first Rv a 2011 Montana mountaineer 345dbq
Again I am new to rvs so reading some of the battery posts got a little confusing.

So my Rv has a deka marine starters dc27 battery. It’s a 2019 battery and it works but I suspect performance is not what it should be. I generally hook up my standing battery charger to the battery to make sure it’s at a good 12v for the Rv. I do notice better performance with the charger.

So I was looking to replace the battery. I was looking at Walmart because I am in a rural area and the nearest Rv store is an hour away. I know in my vehicles I have gone to gel batteries and been much happier than standard batteries.
But looking I see standard batteries, a 100ah deep cycle hybrid gel battery, LiFePO4 which if I am not mistaken is a lithium battery, and there are various sizes that get costly (200ab,300ah,400ah,etc) and agm batteries.
I am not wanting to dump loads of money into the battery right now as I am still making repairs and upgrades. Maybe in the future but I want to put in something that will be reliable.

At the moment I don’t have plans for boondocking. I may take trips and on the way might stop where power isn’t available but for the most part I plan to go where I have a 50 amp service (I live in texas and 104 degree days I want the ac’s to work lol).