Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 12-08-2023, 01:11 PM   #1
DutchmenSport
Montana Master

M.O.C. #22835
What would you do?

We're leaving from Central Indiana on December 26 and heading to Louisiana with the camper for over 3 months. The distance one way is over 850 miles.

My Chevy Silverado Dually Diesel long bed is due for an oil change in 2000 miles. Please note: I do not do my own servicing on my vehicles. I stopped doing that 50 years ago. I'm a darn good carpenter, but a lousy mechanic.

Anyway, in our travels and journeys I have always been able to be back in Central Indiana when it came time for oil changes and scheduled maintenance needs. I have my local GM dealer / GM Truck Service Center that I trust, and I've had a 50 year relationship with them.

So my quandary, and a "what would you do?" question.

1) Would go get the oil change done now, 2000 miles early so you know the service technicians and their past history, and have 100% confidence in them to do the work, and do it right.

2) Go ahead and leave, and recruit a GM service center at your trip destination once the odometer hits those remaining 2000 miles, not knowing the reputation of the dealership / repair center, or how well the treat non-local customers, or the quality of their work?

3) Hold off on getting the oil change until you returned home in April and most definately would be past the 2000 miles (probably past the 2000 miles by a thousand or fifteen hundred by the time we get done running around over the 3 months in Louisiana).