Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 01-15-2022, 12:00 PM   #1
EllsworthToohey
Established Member

M.O.C. #29777
Slide seals

Been a while since I've posted here but I have been plugging away at fixing new problems I did not even know existed. And I want to share a fantastic revelation I came across for Slide Seal replacements.

Most of my seals look in good shape but the top seal on the kitchen slide was missing about 4 inches on the forward end. I studied the various extrusion profiles available and their rather pricey co$ts; and then I found a company called RecPro.com and they had a very low cost/ft simple adhesive based seal in 3 and 4" widths. The real joy was being able to buy just 1ft of it to evaluate and free shipping! I used this test piece as a temp patch for the gap on the kitchen slide, and the ordered 15ft of the 3" for I think $3.99 / ft.

I was blown away by how fast and easy installation went. The old seal was not anchored by a screw as in most How To vids, but seemed rather to be fixed by a headless nail of some sort. I just pulled out the old seal along the track rather than slide it out. At the nail I just ripped it with little resistance and now was ready for the genius of this seal.

Instead of installing it into the slots used to capture the original style, this adhesive seal installs PERFECTLY under the lowest lip of the aluminum extrusion. I spent more time cleaning this flat surface than it took me to apply the new seal as I pulled the plastic adhesive cover strip. Literally 2 minutes tops to install and trim to length. The adhesive is very aggressive but can still be removed about as easily as the original seal. I LOVE these seals!