Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Old 10-25-2023, 02:49 PM   #1
GigiGetsAround
Established Member

M.O.C. #33547
Matching Question

I have a 2020 HC 295rl and I'm brand new to all of this, so please excuse my ignorance. I'm having to figure things out for myself.
I want to remove the microwave and utilize that space for a shelf.
Removing the microwave seems simple enough. It's mounted directly to the cabinet above. The advice I'm seeking is:
1) Would you do this yourself?
2) If yes, (or for any other repairs/additions), how can I match it to the existing cabinetry?
The color in my model is a wood grain light gray/beige. What I would call "driftwood".

Any other suggestions/advice are also welcome.
Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	11b3c8040d24e2597442c9b40d4c6168.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	15796  

GigiGetsAround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2023, 04:13 PM   #2
mhs4771
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9969
Be advised if you remove the Microwave you'll be left with a hole in the wall where the microwave vents to the outside. At least there is on a normal RV install. Maybe someone with that model will verify.
Old 10-25-2023, 06:11 PM   #3
jsb5717
Montana Master

M.O.C. #23668
Yes, there will likely be a vent on the back...easy enough to cover. Just leave the outside vent cover and trim out the interior the way you want. Anything is doable with the right tools and skill set.

Stain matching can be a little tricky but it's doable. Our interior has darker wood. I did some work and had to experiment with different stains and woods to get pretty close. I did it...just took a little time.