Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 06-02-2019, 08:14 AM   #1
kozzy
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #18144
Electric Usage for Seasonal Campsite

I am new to having a seasonal site with my Montata. I just got my first electric bill for the month of may, needless to say I was blown off my chair at the bill. I am looking for a comparison of the rates charged at other parks, first of all, then Id like some opinions on the amount used. I am calling BS , but before I complain I want to do my homework. I admit I didn't take the reading in the beginning of the month, but I am past that now. so, here we go. My park charges $.27 per kWh. How is that compared to other places? For my home service, I pay $.13. Next, they charged me for 411 kwH, per the meter read, this is where I call BS. I dropped my unit off up there on May 3, and the reading they took was through yesterday. They didn't take a reading on the day I arrived, they took it on April 29. They say no one was on that site between then and when I checked in. I call BS on that. Next, my unit sat up there, plugged in with just the fridge on for pretty much the whole time. I was up there a total of 5 nights the whole month. Now, I haven't used AC yet,I did have the fireplace on briefly now and then to take the chill out at night, and I did have my hot water heater on both electric and gas. I dont see how I used 411 kwH in that time , it dosent seem possible. I happened to get my home bill yesterday as well, and I used 1145 kwH for my 3500 SqFt house, that has a hot tub always running and lots of other juicy things....how could my camper use a third of what I use at home, for basically 5 nights and a fridge running for a month? Dosent seem possible to me.