Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 04-27-2011, 02:20 AM   #1
TheJeep
Established Member

M.O.C. #10968
Towing Problem or Normal Towing???

I have two questions when it comes to towing my Montana. I am new to towing, we had a Motorhome and towed a Jeep before upgrading to the Montana. Our TV is a Dodge 3500 Dully with 410s. The Montana is a 3455SA. So 2 things that I have noticed is that sometimes at highway speeds (55-60) I have noticed that the truck feels like it is bucking. Maybe better described as chugging. Is this normal? I thought it could be the wind hitting the front of the Montana. Second problem is when I am stopped the trailer brakes take about ½ a second to a second longer to release than the truck brakes. I thought they should release at the same time. Is that a problem with the truck or the trailer?
We had our first trip with it last weekend and had a great time. Any guidance on the problems that I have notice would be very helpful.

Thanks

TheJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 02:57 AM   #2
pbahlin
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9380
I have the same truck, pulling a Big Sky. Mine will 'chuck' at times but it is only when I'm on a bad surface. A road with concrete expansion joints (even when covered with asphalt) is usually the culprit.

I have a Moryde shock absorbing pin which helps a lot and I also have a Trailer Saver air ride hitch.